Reviews

8.8
Review score

Score Breakdown

Cleanliness
9.0
Comfort
8.5
Property location
9.1
Facilities
8.2
Staff
9.2
Value
8.9

Reviews

    Calle77
    se

    Review score

    10
    14 April 2018

    Excellent hotell

    Very friendly staff! Quiet location yet very near to the castle and Donau!
    Peter
    gb

    Review score

    6.7
    7 April 2018

    Adequate two day staybefore joining a cruise but would not recommend for a week

    Bathrooms were very cramped
    Breakfasts were good value for 8euros. Staff were very helpful and location was good for Buda side of the Danube but a little distant from Pest requiring a taxi to reach most places
    Metaleric
    de

    Review score

    7.9
    26 March 2018
    Nothing to report.
    I've stayed there before and it proximity to the Rudas baths was the reason of my choice. But the Hotel is very well located and it is close to all the spots in the center but also in a quiet street so a good rest is guaranteed. I appreciated the fact that they allowed me to park my car right in front of the Hotel on a space normally reserved to other users. Overall, another nice stay at the Orion Varkert!
    Angella
    gb

    Review score

    10
    18 March 2018

    Ideal place to stay if on the Buda side of the river. On the corner was a great bistro type bar.

    When we travel we are looking for a value engineered experience - we are retired. This hotel gave us everything we needed (clean, friendly, secure, good location) and nothing we did not. We were not looking for a panoramic city view or a fancy restaurant, but the people serving on the buffet breakfast cooked your eggs just as asked - in my case scrambled with some fresh tomato.
    John
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    14 March 2018

    Great hotel whose staff go the extra mile to make your stay as enjoyable as possible.

    The breakfast coffee is a bit too weak for my taste.
    The multilingual staff are extremely friendly and knowledgeable. The hotel is in a very quiet location, close to the Danube and to the tram network. This is the 10th year in a row that I have stayed at this hotel and I can not recommend it highly enough.
    Dmitry
    ru

    Review score

    10
    23 February 2018
    I have spent 2 weeks work trip in Budapest with 2 days working right from hotel. Perfect location, frendly and very competent personnel, cozy and tidy rooms, good wifi(vpn works well), fast laundry service, continental breakfast and kettle right in the room. Highly recommend for work trips.
    Laurent
    ch

    Review score

    9.2
    6 February 2018

    Quiet and still very close to the center

    We didn't try the breakfast because it seemed too expensive comparing breakfasts in a café/bakery. But maybe they have an amazing breakfast and it's worth the money. I don't know. Maybe...
    Very friendly staff. We looked for a quiet hotel but still not too far from the center. It was perfect. We crossed the bridge every night to go back to the hotel (10 min walk), the view is amazing, and it was good to walk after a big meal somewhere in the center :-) If you don't want to walk, there's buses and trams all the time. (Bus n°7 brings you directly from Keleti Railstation to the big crossroad next to the hotel).
    Alptekin
    tr

    Review score

    8.3
    1 February 2018
    That was a good stay for us. The hotel is in a calm street. The room and the bathroom were large and warm enough..It was clean. We had hot water for 24 hours. The location is perfect especially to reach Buda castle district in 15 minutes. The Pest part is always at rich in 20-25 minutes with public transport. Or you can walk the beautiful bridges.. We left the hotel happy..
    Roman
    ru

    Review score

    10
    20 January 2018
    extremely friendly staff
    Qinling
    cn

    Review score

    10
    7 January 2018

    Perfect

    Great location,Clean and big room,Nice people.I love Budapest!!! I will come again soon^_^
    Alessandro
    it

    Review score

    9.2
    7 January 2018

    Very nice hotel.

    Viktor
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    14 December 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Viktor
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    25 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Prafull
    no

    Review score

    8.8
    23 November 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Adam
    pl

    Review score

    9.2
    12 November 2017

    Quiet place in the heart of the city

    All was fine for me.
    Nice, small hotel in a quiet area (street with hardly any traffic), nearby the castle hill, with good communication to the other parts of the city by buses lines going to Pest through Elisabeth bridge and trams going along Danube banks. Clean rooms with enough space and all you need for your stay. Big plus for an electric kettle with cups and some tea and coffee to make on your own. Very kind and helpful staff.
    Germee
    gb

    Review score

    9.2
    7 November 2017

    Friendly and accomodating hotel in a great location

    There was a weird damp smell in one corner - probably as this was the wall behind the bathroom. We wanted to try the breakfast but we felt it was too expensive.
    The owner was very accomodating and very helpful. We followed the tip of other travellers and bought most of our water at the hotel for a cheap price. The hotel is located in a quiet part of Buda (walking distance to the castle), right next to the bridge going over the Pest side. We managed to walk around a lot but getting public transportation was also very easy as the stops are a few minutes away from the hotel. The Gellert Bath is a 9 minute away on the tram. There are really good cafes also close to the hotel for breakfast.
    Patty
    se

    Review score

    8.8
    30 October 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
    Tracey Fenton
    gb

    Review score

    6.7
    14 October 2017
    It was dated and could do with a revamp
    It was on the quiet side of the river
    Philip
    ie

    Review score

    7.1
    2 October 2017

    Decent

    Had 4 twin deluxe rooms confirmed, but 2 had only a sofabed as the second bed - with no linen on the first night.
    Proximity to city Value for money
    gb

    Review score

    9.6
    30 September 2017
    There are no comments available for this review.
Loading reviews